Articles, Blog

California Changes Rules For Car Dealers

California Changes Rules For Car Dealers


IT’S INTENDED TO MAKE SURE EVERY NEW OR USED CAR SOLD IN THE STATE HAS A NUMBERED LICENSE PLATE BEFORE IT HITS THE ROAD. BUT AS KPIX FIVE’S EMILY TURNER EXPLAINS, NOT EVERYONE’S READY TO ROLL WITH THE NEW LAW. the tail end of new cars in california sport the names of their sellers…but that 90 day tag-free grace period has also cost the state SPONSOR SAYS HE IS OPEN TO CREATING A REGISTRY THAT WOULD ALLOW CAR BUYERS WHO ARE HAVING PROBLEMS REGISTERING THEIR CARS.. AVOID GETTING A TICKET.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “California Changes Rules For Car Dealers

  1. This has been a thing in Canada for years, and they're complaining about this? (I know this is a year old)
    In every Province/Territory a car can not leave the dealer/ship until its insured and registered.
    "Unfair fees" how about putting that cost of getting a plate first before buying the bloody car.

  2. the problem with this law is there is no law to register your personal property.
    This law would go against the Ca constitution and until the Ca constitution is amended this can not become a law.

  3. being able to buy a car online and have it registered simultaneously and shipped is the future. These car dealership franchise laws are only slowing the inevitable

  4. There’s still a loophole around this though. I drove for a year with a logo plate insert. Never got hassled. Same for my motorcycle. But if you order any personalized plate, even special order sequential, they take the old plates and give you another temp registration sticker good for 90 days lol. Just costs $25 or whatever the cost for special order plates are.

  5. How would this law effect "poor" people?

    I thought that the cars you see driving without their plates are because they are still waiting for the dmv to mail them, since their cars have never been registered to drive on the road before.

    So I'm confused as to why poor people would have anything to do with people who can buy brand new cars?

  6. This makes no sense. How can you have a numbered license plate when it takes the dmv a month, sometimes longer to mail you the plate?

  7. "Hurt the poor", if you can afford a car, you can afford the tag. Hurt the poor is a catch phrase for "there is no good reason for this, so I will appeal to a false sense of guilt"

  8. Most states do this, California is behind the times, you need a license plate and registration (and insurance) before driving off the lot in NY (new or used car). The car dealership can register your car and provide plates…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *